More than three million European students have studied in a foreign European country via the EU’s ERASMUS Programme since 1987. Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) has been able to establish many new partnerships as a result of this exchange programme and now offers students a multitude of places at various partner universities in Europe. The following countries participate in the ERASMUS Programme: All 28 member states of the EU, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Turkey and Macedonia. ERASMUS works on the faculty level, i.e. each of RUB’s faculties signed bilateral agreements with the corresponding faculties at their partner universities. RUB students may study at those host universities which signed a bilateral agreement with their faculty.

The most important ERASMUS contacts at RUB are on the one hand RUB’s International Office, which is responsible for general and organisational matters as well as the ERASMUS Mobility Grant. On the other hand, the university’s ERASMUS Departmental Coordinators in each faculty are accountable for questions regarding their specific field of expertise, and are responsible for the application process and the selection of outgoing students.

The Erasmus+ institutional coordinator of RUB is Jutta Schmid.

Most important facts

Organising your Erasmus study abroad